The PR Guru

December 6, 2012

TOM’S UPDATE

Filed under: Uncategorized — richardswancott @ 5:53 pm

What a week. We have been extremely busy following up press releases, attending meetings and acquiring new business!

I attended my first BNI networking event at the Moat House Hotel on Wednesday – it was a great experience. 

There were around 18 business representatives who attended, so I made lots of connections.

Attendees had 60 seconds at the start of the event to introduce themselves, so for a newcomer I felt quite anxious describing myself to a room full of random business people!

I was quite nervous before doing my speech, but like to think I nailed it!

After the introductions, we had a quick break to help ourselves to some lunch…

I’m not going to lie – I was starving at this point after all the networking, so I was ready for a good meal! I didn’t hesitate on creating a pyramid of food for myself!

After we finished filling our stomachs, we all gathered around a table to sit through a short presentation that BNI had put together. We learnt about referrals and how word of mouth is an effective way to gain more business.

This became evident almost minutes after we got back to the office. I received a phone call from a lady we had met at the networking meeting. She’s interested in doing some PR work with us in the New Year.

My next task is to take responsibility for the PR for the Young Enterprise in North Staffordshire. Richard is the chairman of the area board in North Staffs and included me in a meeting on Wednesday night, which was extremely exciting.

In the New Year I will be releasing articles relating to Young Enterprise once every month – so keep your eyes out for them and offer me some feedback!

Things are still going steadily, and let’s hope the good news keeps arriving here for us.

Tom

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

