The PR Guru

February 27, 2013

INTRODUCING SIAN, OUR NEW RECRUIT

Hi, my name is Siân and I’ve just started some work experience with Richard Swancott Associates.

I’m in my second year at Keele University and I’m currently studying for my degree in Politics and Economics.

I’m really interested in writing and journalism, so PR seemed like a great industry to get some experience in.

As part of my course I’ve been taking part in a work experience module for which I am expected to undertake a 75-hour placement, which I will be doing with RSA

As preparation for a placement I have had workshops with Keele’s careers advisor, learning about writing CVs, covering letter and skills audits, and the best ways to present myself in the jobs market, but now it’s time to get down to business.

One of the things I’ve been doing so far at RSA is managing the social media pages for some of the company’s clients.

This has mostly involved accessing the client’s Twitter pages and following other pages that are of a similar interest, as well as posing appropriate ‘tweets’ in order to gain a larger following.

This has been really interesting for me as a consumer, as when I follow companies from my own Twitter account, and I read their tweets, I have never really thought about who is writing them, and this has given me a great insight.

I’ve also written a short piece of writing about a web-design company called ExtraMile Communications who are based in Eccleshall.

The piece was about how the company has stuck to its local roots and is choosing to expand their company within Eccleshall rather than moving out of the area, and linking it to a new initiative in Eccleshall called Totally Locally, which encourages residents to spend £5 a week in their local independent shops to keep their economy thriving.

I’m really looking forward to the rest of my placement here at RSA and you should expect to hear a lot more from me in the coming weeks!

Siân

Richard Swancott Associates provides bespoke PR and social media campaigns for businesses of all sizes and descriptions. Through their partners, they also offer search engine optimisation, email marketing, and telemarketing services.

All campaigns come with money-back guarantees, based on our performance. So if you don’t get a good return on your investment, you don’t pay anything!

For further information, contact Richard Swancott Associates on 01782 472035 or info@richardswancottassociates.co.uk.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

